Welcome to Sonus

Listen; Hear
Be heard here!

The new Sonus motto encourages Users to "Listen; Hear" and Artists to "Be heard here!" as the CEC, through Sonus, continues to be the leader for national and international access to Canadian electroacoustic practices.

The catalog of, a web-based audio resource, has a growing collection of nearly 3000 electroacoustic works by over a thousand Canadian and international composers dating from the early-1960s to the present.

Create a user account and build your own playlists. For those interested, it would take about 370 hours to play the entire collection once.

The CEC invites composers / audio and sound artists to submit works to be added to the collection. For information on submitting multi-channel files, please consult the Multichannel Submission Guidelines.

Files are streamed. Multi-channel pieces may be manually downloaded, at the composer’s discretion.

In the late 1980s the CEC decided to build a system to allow the playback of works in its possession. The initial structure was designed with a clear vision of future developments and from the late-1980s to about 2003 the collection grew and continued to be documented by the CEC. The first public version of Sonus dates from 2003, funded by the Canada Council for the Arts.

In 2017, through the generous support of the SOCAN Foundation and DIFFUSION i MéDIA, was able to substantially update its user interface, and implement a number of infrastructural supports.


GM-500 — 1455, boulevard De Maisonneuve Ouest
Montréal, QC
H3G 1M8, Canada

By continuing browsing our site, you agree to the use of cookies, which allow audience analytics.