Night Labyrinth Alan Belkin

  • Year of composition: 1988
  • Format: Live recording
  • Instrumentation: for MIDI trio (DX7, WX7, KAT)
  • Duration of the submitted work: 80:00
  • Production: studio privé

2. Adagio I

Adagio I is the second movement of Night Labyrinth, a work of MIDI chamber music for three performers, each playing modules of a Yamaha TX816 synthesizer. It is one of three tape interludes which set off the live portions of the work in a dramatic way with denser richer orchestration. Indeed, it is perhaps the most orchestral in conception of all the movements, both in its density of texture and in some of the sounds it uses. However, the passage work heard using these sounds would often be impossible to achieve in an acoustic orchestra, as would some of the timbral combinations.

  • Year of composition: 1987
  • Duration of the submitted work: 7:00
  • Production: studio privé
  • Premiere: February 27, 1988, Concordia University (Montréal, Québec)

6. Adagio III

Adagio III is the penultimate movement of Night Labyrinth (1988). The latter work, lasting about an hour and a quarter, is made up of four “live” movements which are played on MIDI synthesizers, and three interludes for tape, of which Adagio III is the last and the longest and the most introspective of these interludes. It was composed in the form of several superimposed improvisations, which were recorded and subsequently refined used a MIDI sequencer. Finally, the whole work was transferred to magnetic tape.

Source: CECG/GEC, 1989

  • Year of composition: 1988
  • Duration of the submitted work: 13:20
  • Production: studio privé
  • Premiere: April 12, 1989, Concordia University (Montréal, Québec)

Linked projects

  • Amies, Appleton, Bartley, Belkin, Berg, Bonnier, Brady, Brown, Ceccarelli, CECG/GEC…
    130 tracks
  • CAP
    Allik, Amies, Appleton, Austin, Bach, Bartley, Belkin, Berg, Bonnier, Bouchard…
    314 tracks