Clones Ricardo Dal Farra, Arturo Gervasoni

Clones was composed and recorded by Ricardo Dal Farra (electroacoustic processors) and Arturo Gervasoni (guitar).

All the time the same pitch class is sounding, in the middle section jumping between octaves and in the third section one octave lower than in the first one, but always the same. The sounds coming from a classical guitar are processed through a mixing desk, a delay line and a digital pitch transposer. The composition is the outcome of the direct interaction between two musicians, one generating and the other processing sounds.

All sounds heard on this piece were played and processed live during recording. “Clones” was premiered live in Argentina at Centro Cultural Ciudad de Buenos Aires on September 5 of 1986. As a tape piece it has been played in festivals and symposiums such as the RES Musica Baltimore International Electroacoustic Music Festival, in the USA.

Source: CEC / Concordia Archival Project (CAP), 2008

  • Year of composition: 1986
  • Genre: Live electronics
  • Format: Live recording
  • Instrumentation: for electroacoustic processors (Dal Farra) and guitar (Arturo Gervasoni)
  • Hardware used: nylon-strings guitar (Ovation, stereo); sound processors (Yamaha SPX90; Roland SDE-3000; Biamp 8ch. mixer)
  • Duration of the submitted work: 7:40
  • Publisher: Cosentino Producciones
  • Production: Estudio de Música Electracústica (Buenos Aires, Argentine)

Linked project

  • CAP
    Allik, Amies, Appleton, Austin, Bach, Bartley, Belkin, Berg, Bonnier, Bouchard…
    314 tracks

More works by Ricardo Dal Farra, Arturo Gervasoni