With Love, a fantasy for live cello and decorated cello cases (prepared tape), in memory of Myrtle Hollins Adelberg Vivian Adelberg Rudow

“With Love, 1986, a fantasy for live cello and decorated cello cases, in memory of Myrtle Hollins Adelberg,” by Vivian Adelberg Rudow, composed for live cello and stereo tape, won first prize Bourges 1986 Program. For first performance, the two separate tracks were transmitted to two separate speakers, one inside decorated cello case “Electronic Mom,” the other inside decorated cello case “Electronic Woman,” each designed by Amalie Rothschild, with cellist Paula Skolnick-Virizlay(-Childress) premiere performance and recording.

“Electronic Woman” unmarried, spirited, and flamboyant music was electronically reproduced. Sounds from “Electronic Mom” are recorded spoken thoughts about moms plus music.

Two versions, Non Performance Art version with no cello cases where cellist performs to normal stereo playback, Or, Performance Art version, with two speakers directly behind two (newly) decorated “…Woman” and “…Mom” cello case statues with the cellist performing between, have each produced exciting performances!

Composed in new Baroque style using dialogue as instruments, sentences & phrases in counterpoint, plus spoken words as texture & percussive accent, and emotion used as instrumental ideas, the strength of the work became more important than the original concept of a performance art piece.

The composer hopes “With Love” reminds the listener of their own mother.

Source: CEC / Concordia Archival Project (CAP), 2008

  • Year of composition: 1986
  • Genre: Mixed
  • Format: Mixed work
  • Instrumentation: for live cello and prepared tape
  • Hardware used: One 4 track TEAC tape deck, two 1/2 track reel to reel 1/4 inch tape decks; one small TEAC box with buttons to switch tracks for mixing (but not while moving). Three keyboards & one sound module
  • Duration of the submitted work: 16:14
  • Publisher: Hollins & Park Music Company
  • Production: Home
  • Awards received: First Prize Winner: 14th International Electroacoustic Music Festival, Bourges, 1986, program division.
  • Disc publication: Le Chant Du Monde/Serie, GMEB/UNESCO/CIME Cultures Electronique 3 (with 16th year winners) Harmonia Mundi, France. CD Electro-Acoustic Cello Book, Craig Hultgren, cellist. Living Artist Recordings volume 4, Music from The Setting Century Series CD.

Linked project

  • CAP
    Allik, Amies, Appleton, Austin, Bach, Bartley, Belkin, Berg, Bonnier, Bouchard…
    314 tracks

More works by Vivian Adelberg Rudow