Lies Vivian Adelberg Rudow

Lies was first performed in 1974 by the Goucher College Dance Department, with dance creatively structured by Chrystelle T. Bond. Lies embodies manipulated sounds of a Cash Register (1973 type) and the spoken word, “Lies”, together with electronically reproduced sounds from early music by the composer from the Moog Synthesizer, plus sounds of a coin spinning, coins being fingered in the cash register drawer from Pops toys and breaking glass (broken by her son Bill at home).

The composition expresses the betrayal of an entertainment company executive by his trusted associate whose lies caused the famous, high ranking company executive to lose his job and fall into public disgrace and humiliation.

The composer auditioned cash registers to hear which had the best sound. She carried her large heavy home Revox half track, deck tape deck to Pops Toys and bought a plate of glass from a hardware store.

Source: CEC / Concordia Archival Project (CAP), 2008

  • Year of composition: 1973
  • Genre: Electroacoustics
  • Format: Fixed media
  • Hardware used: two 1/2 track TEAC tape decks I cannot remember when I bought a 4 track (1/4 inch tape) TEAC deck
  • Duration of the submitted work: 3:09
  • Production: Home

Linked project

  • CAP
    Allik, Amies, Appleton, Austin, Bach, Bartley, Belkin, Berg, Bonnier, Bouchard…
    314 tracks

More works by Vivian Adelberg Rudow