Migrations Postlude Vivian Adelberg Rudow

The music Migrations was a commission by poet Grace Cavalieri for this composer, Vivian Adelberg Rudow, to compose music to Cavalieri’s16 poems, plus prelude and postlude. The subject of the poems relate to how parents feel about their children: great love, pain of dreadful fear of loss, joys, mingled with the authors own feelings of her childhood: great love, but wrenching pain from her father‘s emotional abuse.

The thickish sound during the opening and conclusion is “the head sings” motif. In the background is a “love of child feeling.”

The Postlude, (Recapitulation), includes a fragment from each of the 16 poems. The only theme played in entirety is Love Of Children theme, the last continuous theme of the music. The theme was later used in Vivian Adelberg Rudow’s cello and piano music The Bare Smooth Stone Of Your Love and closing theme for her orchestra music Urbo Turbo.

Source: CEC / Concordia Archival Project (CAP), 2008

  • Year of composition: 1992
  • Genre: Electroacoustics
  • Format: Fixed media
  • Hardware used: Mac computer. Synths: E-Mu Proteus XR, Yamaha DX7, Roland Juno 106, Yamaha TX7. Yamaha Mixing Console model MR 1642. Sansui 4 channel receiver QR-6500. Alesis Quadra Verb
  • Software used: 4 Galaxy patch banks, Professional Composer
  • Duration of the submitted work: 3:47
  • Production: Home

Linked project

  • CAP
    Allik, Amies, Appleton, Austin, Bach, Bartley, Belkin, Berg, Bonnier, Bouchard…
    314 tracks

More works by Vivian Adelberg Rudow