Kakusei Yota Kobayashi

For hexaphonic (6-channel) tape. Kakusei (Japanese for “Awakening”) is an acousmatic rendering of a dream, and the self-realizations that follow from the act of awakening. The dream world consists of two primary settings: the first is associated with aspects of ritual, with recurring horn-calls announcing new, fragmented states; the second setting is subaquatic, with traces of the ritual horns now submerged and distorted. At this point there is a noticeable reduction of event density, and the events themselves become viscous, moving with dream-like slowness. Through this darkness emerge the beginnings of self-realization, which gradually strengthen by way of an extended crescendo that finally culminates with a sudden snap back to consciousness — or perhaps it is merely another hallway to yet another dream….

Source: 2009

  • Year of composition: 2009
  • Genre: Electroacoustics
  • Format: Fixed media
  • Hardware used: Mac Pro, M-Audio FireWire 410
  • Software used: Cubase, Reaktor, Kontakt, SoundHack Delay Trio, GRM Tools.
  • Duration of the submitted work: 12:05
  • Production: Home

Linked projects

  • Barrette, Foerster, Furey, Girouard, Hartlieb, Kobayashi, Lachance, Mclean, Peters, Quevillon…
    13 tracks
  • Acosta, Arsenault, Ashton-Beaucage, Barrette, Basanta, Beaudoin, Bergeron, Bond, Bowles, Boyko…
    92 tracks
  • Barrette, Girouard, Kobayashi, Lachance, Mclean
    5 tracks

More works by Yota Kobayashi