Vertikalzeit Nicolas Wiese

  • Vertikalzeit (2008) Violins: Yukio King, Oliver Peters, Lea Claessens. Viola: Philippe Berger. Cello: Arnaud Marcaille, Gary Rouzer. Double Bass: John Hughes
    Nicolas Wiese
    Cache 2009, 2, 6 | JTTP 2009

Vertical Time is exclusively derived from recordings of conventional string instruments (violin, viola, violoncello, double bass). The title implies an idea of time passing in the form of a downward spiral. The non-linear and shifting, overlapping method of (glissando-driven) recurrence, is aimed at dissolving the perception of linear time, without the use of static or endless repetition. This idea of a vertical time came to my mind as self-observation while surfing the internet. A routine web user tends to do several things at the same time, and thus wants to submerge profoundly into different information sources, archives, forums and communication channels, often in a rapidly jumping manner. this often leads to iteration loops. This desire to deepen different thoughts / activities simultaneously, has a bizarre effect on subjective perception of passing time, and on the perception of focus and distraction. At the end of the day, however, 24 hours have gone by as usual.

  • Year of composition: 2008
  • Genre: Electroacoustics
  • Format: Fixed media
  • Hardware used: String instruments, various recording devices, Akai S2000 Sampler, different Midi Controller Keyboards, Mac Computer
  • Software used: ProTools, Reason
  • Duration of the submitted work: 14:44

Linked projects

  • Barrette, Foerster, Furey, Girouard, Hartlieb, Kobayashi, Lachance, Mclean, Peters, Quevillon…
    13 tracks
  • Acosta, Arsenault, Ashton-Beaucage, Barrette, Basanta, Beaudoin, Bergeron, Bond, Bowles, Boyko…
    92 tracks

By continuing browsing our site, you agree to the use of cookies, which allow audience analytics.