Nachtschatten Alexander Schubert

Nachtschatten is a tape piece based on instrumental and electronic sound material. It’s part of a cycle of narrative pieces describing a fictional space or line of events. It uses remains of romantic phrases distorted and replaced by microtonal, noise-based and frequency-altering effects. The idea was on the one hand to create an orchestral acousmatic machinery in contrast to well-known tape music stylistics and on the other hand to break with the common slowly upbuilding of density patterns.

Nachtschatten was produced during a residency at the ZKM, Karlsruhe in late 2008. In 2009, the composer won a residency prize in the Bourges competition for this piece.

  • Year of composition: 2008
  • Genre: Electroacoustics
  • Format: Fixed media
  • Hardware used: Computer
  • Software used: Zirkonium
  • Duration of the submitted work: 11:38
  • Production: ZKM

Linked projects

  • Barrette, Foerster, Furey, Girouard, Hartlieb, Kobayashi, Lachance, Mclean, Peters, Quevillon…
    13 tracks
  • Acosta, Arsenault, Ashton-Beaucage, Barrette, Basanta, Beaudoin, Bergeron, Bond, Bowles, Boyko…
    92 tracks