Nacha So Nacha Anno Thomas Speakman

This piece can be distinguished by three movements. At the beginning, the intention was to create a living being. Its heart is pulsing, its fluids rushing, its voice producing the statement “No Future, No Past, Just Me & My Gasp”, and its hands typing these words out. I intended to evoke feelings of warmth and harmony within this being, which is to say that all life is the most perfect harmony, and sublime ecstasy. The statement that repeats is the apex of the lifeforms conscious realizations. It is enlightenment, or awareness of of the eternal phenomena of the! universe. The being is at peace with all happenings, and is ready experience death. After the voice and heart stop, this natural process begins. Final breaths are drawn and released. The surrounding environment begins decomposing the physicality of the being. Animals feed off it, the earth envelopes it and the final flickering of existence begins fading out. Silence for 30 seconds. This silence is the most important moment in the piece. I believe that death is absolute nothingness. It is not black, not white, not heaven, not hell, not floating around as a ghost, not anything. This is impossible to symbolize, but silence is the closest thing. It is out this nothingness that makes existence and life possible. If birth is waking out of never going to sleep, then death is going to sleep and not waking. Out of the silence comes new life, changed, yet fundamentally the same. The senses are weak at first, but as the sun burns through the glazed eyes and sounds penetrate the eardrum, a new form comes into being. First laughter, then the sound of bees! and birds. Now this new form is growing its voice, which becomes clearer and stronger throughout time. This piece is essentially my own perspective of the cyclical nature of being.

Source: 2010

  • Year of composition: 2010
  • Genre: Electroacoustics
  • Format: Fixed media
  • Hardware used: Motu 8 pre A/D D/A shure sm7b mic apex 460 mic macbook pro
  • Software used: Cubase 5 Soundhack
  • Duration of the submitted work: 7:02
  • Production: Home

Linked project