Electrofuga Nicolás Arnáez

As its name indicates, this composition reelaborates and gives a new significance to the fugue, representative music genre of the Renaissance and Baroque, but from the point of view of electronic music. Classic elements of a fugue –such as subjects, countersubjects, responses and their elaboration– are present in this composition as well, and are relatively easy to recognize. Electrofuga is written in “four voices”. Here the instruments are no longer used to reproduce the musical theme, since four speakers located in a quadraphonic manner now perform that task. The sounds that give life to this composition are notes, chords, clusters, noises from baroque musical instruments such as organ and harpsichord, as well as sine and square waves. The work’s texture goes through different stages, from a great volumetric density of frequencies and timbres to light repetitive and percussive elements. Bumpy and soft textures, pedals and chronometric densities are presented strategically to generate the composition’s form.

Source: 2014

  • Year of composition: 2008
  • Genre: Electroacoustics
  • Format: Fixed media
  • Duration of the submitted work: 9:51
  • Production: Home

Linked project

  • Aalders, Ackerman, Arnáez, Barrette, Beauchesne, Carlone, Christie, Côté, Dean, Drweski…
    45 tracks

More works by Nicolás Arnáez