Clockwork Rewind Elias Bazinjaneh

The work is a sonic creation consisting of a combination of gestural events characterized by spatial details, aimed at giving rise to a train of thoughts in a continuous transformation from one event to another through the ten movements. The structure and context are musical, giving rise to a work that can be interpreted on a variety of different auditory levels. The entire piece embodies a reverse movement in time, in which the first movement represents the final point in time, and goes backwards alternating between unreal and real sonic environments as the piece progresses. The field recording is derived from capturing sounds during a rehearsal of three artists playing a piece for an electric piano and two Gu-Zheng, which are reminiscent of Chinese style. The piece explores sonic materials derived from a modular synthesizer, with a different patching technique in each movement. The development of the material can be traced back from the raw recording to the modified sound, as the results derived from the original field recording become more abstract with each successive composition.

  • Year of composition: 2015
  • Genre: Electroacoustics
  • Format: Fixed media
  • Hardware used: Dopfer a-100 modular synthesizer, Tascam Dr-40 field recorder, Mac book laptop.
  • Software used: Logic pro x, Amadeus.
  • Duration of the submitted work: 10:40
  • Production: University

Downloadable resources

Linked project

  • Bachynsky, Bazinjaneh, Bosse, Campion, Candau, Daigneault, Dall’Ara-Majek, Dean, Feldman, Fliniaux…
    46 tracks