III - Seven Vignettes Jonathan D. Martin

Seven Vignettes is the third and final movement of Open Doors and Parallel Windows (2017), a soundscape composition consisting entirely of environmental and soundscape recordings made in Canada, the United States, France, Germany and Japan. Containing a series of seven short sections, Seven Vignettes develops an abstract narrative through the expansion of timbral and gestural materials presented in the first two movements of the work. The simultaneous presentation of known and unknown sound materials in each scene challenges the listener’s preferential bias, experiential knowledge and relationship with their environment.

Source: 2018

  • Year of composition: 2017
  • Genre: Soundscape
  • Format: Fixed media
  • Hardware used: Sony PCM-M10 recorder, SSL Matrix, Neve 33609, SSL G Buss Compressor
  • Software used: Pro Tools 12, INA GRM Tools, Eventide Anthology X, Misc. plugins from Sonnox, Waves, UAD, Soundtoys, and others
  • Duration of the submitted work: 14:31
  • Publisher: Jon Martin
  • Production: Jon Martin
  • Premiere: May 12, 2017, Multichannel audio installation, May 12 - June 12 2017, Southern Alberta Art Gallery (Lethbridge, AB, Canada)
  • Disc publication: Stereo version, April 13, 2018

Linked projects

More works by Jonathan D. Martin