Collage 3 (After E. Ysaye) Juan Carlos Vasquez

Collage 3 is part of a series of experiments conducted to prove the digital capabilities of tone expansion in a single acoustic instrument. In this particular piece, the composer recorded an original performance of Eugène Ysaÿe’s Sonata No. 3 for solo violin, and reinvented the audio files deconstructing the piece as a collage, using different and complex kinds of digital audio processes to create a post-modern electroacoustic version of the original sonata. As a result, the usual acoustic violin timber is expanded into deep and rich atmospheres filling the entire range of frequencies. The collages series are also a sonic application of British painter JMW Turner’ technique to use layers of colours and textures to turn everyday landscapes into powerful and expressive oneiric fantasies. No other samples than the mentioned were used in the making of this recording. As many of the mentioned processes use random parameters, each time the track is exported creates a different result. The composer selected the present recording after listening to nearly one hundred versions of the piece.

Source: 2018

  • Year of composition: 2014
  • Genre: Acousmatics
  • Format: Fixed media
  • Hardware used: Kaoss Pad 3, Audient iD14, Genelec Monitors
  • Software used: Ableton Live 10, Max 7, ixiQuarks
  • Duration of the submitted work: 9:18
  • Publisher: Important Records / Cassauna
  • Premiere: 2014, New Music Miami ISCM Festival
  • Disc publication: 2015