Revisit Georgios Varoutsos

Revisit is an electroacoustic composition based on photographic memories. How can we sonically experience a moment captured by a photo? With the process of sonification (transforming data into sound) and wavetable synthesis, Revisit explores a journey through the Ghost Town of Kefalonia, Greece. By solely using these images as sonic material, it provides an alternative perception of captured events. Allowing for new information and experiences which challenge the moment of a photographic memory. The representation set by the documented photos contains energy and emotion of a place, however, through sound it reshapes this viewpoint by enticing curiosity and imaginative auditory perceptions. “As they say, photos speak a thousand words, however, sound is worth a thousand photos.”

Source: 2019

  • Year of composition: 2019
  • Genre: Electroacoustics
  • Format: Fixed media
  • Software used: Ableton
  • Duration of the submitted work: 6:13

Linked project

  • Bermudez Chamberland, Boudreau, Curtis, Daigle, Dolbec, Duplantie Grenier, Giannini, Gill, Hjorthoy, Klinke…
    28 tracks

More works by Georgios Varoutsos