Aquila Timothy Isherwood [sir o sir]

Aquila is the third track on Solar Panels on the Moon (vinyl release Spring/Summer 2020, FG01). Solar Panels on the Moon, the first work released under Isherwood’s new moniker sir o sir, is a collection of restrained, yet poignant ambient soundscapes. Meditative field recordings permeate throughout the album. Whether Athenian buskers or Polish street bazaars, ambient sound splices with the weight of visceral, droning chords. The radiance of classic analogue synthesizers lends warmth and gravity to the otherwise transitory album. Elsewhere, affecting compositions, like Areopagus and Mintaka, use a variety of found instruments to further highlight the collection’s ambiguities. The album, which features eight original pieces, is a meditation on the inevitable dissolution of earth’s resources and its singular solution, which remains shrouded in simplicity.

Source: 2020

  • Year of composition: 2019
  • Genre: Soundscape
  • Format: Mixed work
  • Hardware used: Sony Field Recorder, Modular and Analog Synths, Amp Guitar, Binaural, Hydrophone, LOM usi pro Microphones
  • Software used: Ableton Live, Logic
  • Duration of the submitted work: 3:28
  • Publisher: Famous Grapes Recordings
  • Production: Mastering: Rashad Becker / Production and Mix: Timothy Isherwood
  • Premiere: May 31, 2020, ACUD MACHT NEU, Berlin - Famous Grapes Sessions 03
  • Disc publication: FG01

Linked project

  • Bermudez Chamberland, Bertrand Sauvé, Blackmore, Boudreau, Boulé, Bowie, Bradt, Carandang, Chioini, Coovi-Sirois…
    37 tracks

More works by Timothy Isherwood [sir o sir]