An Opus for Camouflaged Screams Alana M. DeVito [Am DeVito]

This quadraphonic sound installation was composed and designed by Alana DeVito for the interdisciplinary installation Novels of Elgüer Ep. 5 in collaboration with the textile artist Laura Acosta and video artist Santiago Tavera. The composition is a four-speaker, fixed-media piece, that includes three interactive “scream” elements triggered by guests of the installation using Pure Data and integrated Ultra Sonic Sensors. The composition uses a mix of natural sound elements, such as footsteps through leaves, wind through trees, birds (both natural and synthesized), the squeaking of wood, delicate waves and trickling streams, in order to immerse the listener and bring them into the natural environment, while the hidden world beyond the perception of human consciousness exposes itself upon entrance of the human element. The natural sounds metamorphosize as the observer disrupts the camouflaged life of nature.

Source: 2021

  • Year of composition: 2021
  • Genre: Sound installation
  • Format: Mixed work
  • Instrumentation: Voice, field recording, pure data, ultra sonic sensors
  • Hardware used: Zoon H5, Audix i5 Microphone
  • Software used: Ableton Live, Pure Data
  • Duration of the submitted work: 16:26
  • Premiere: April 17, 2021, Optica Gallery, Montreal

Downloadable resources

Linked project

  • Arsenault, Ballyk, Bermudez Chamberland, Bernier, Bertrand Sauvé, Blais, Bobony, Caux, Champagne, Chekhanovich…
    38 tracks